Croatia is administratively divided into 20 counties and the City of Zagreb, which has the status of a county. Each county has particular competence for general education, health, land use, economic development, transport and its infrastructure, and the development of educational and cultural institutions.

Political organisation


The basic units of regional self-government are the counties (županija in Croatian). The present administrative territorial division of the country was introduced in 1997, when the 1992 division was changed. Smaller administrative territorial units within counties are cities/towns in urban areas, and municipalities in other areas. According to the 2006 Act, Croatia has 127 towns/cities and 429 municipalities.

The county, as a unit of territorial division in Croatia, has a long history. Counties are mentioned as early as the 10th century, first in the southern part of the country, and later in the north. They continued to exist up to the 20th century, in different numbers and with changing territorial ranges, means of organisation and powers. After the demilitarisation of the Military Border in 1881, there were 8 counties in the Kingdom of Croatia and Slavonia: Modruš-Rijeka, Lika-Krbava, Zagreb, Varaždin, Bjelovar-Križevac, Požega, Virovitica and Srijem.

Croatian counties and the City of Zagreb

I. Zagreb County
Administrative centre: Zagreb
Number of inhabitants (2011): 317,606
Surface area in km²: 3,060

II. Krapina-Zagorje County
Administrative centre: Krapina
Number of inhabitants (2011): 132,892
Surface area in km²: 1,229

III. Sisak-Moslavina County
Administrative centre: Sisak
Number of inhabitants (2011): 172,439
Surface area in km²: 4,468

IV. Karlovac County
Administrative centre: Karlovac
Number of inhabitants (2011): 128,899
Surface area in km²: 3,626

V. Varaždin County
Administrative centre: Varaždin
Number of inhabitants (2011): 175,951
Surface area in km²: 1,262

VI. Koprivnica-Križevci County
Administrative centre: Koprivnica
Number of inhabitants (2011): 115,584
Surface area in km²: 1,748

VII. Bjelovar-Bilogora County
Administrative centre: Bjelovar
Number of inhabitants (2011): 119,764
Surface area in km²: 2,640

VIII. Primorje-Gorski Kotar County
Administrative centre: Rijeka
Number of inhabitants (2011): 296 195
Surface area in km²: 3 588

IX. Lika-Senj County
Administrative centre: Gospić
Number of inhabitants (2011): 50,927
Surface area in km²: 5,353

X. Virovitica-Podravina County
Administrative centre: Virovitica
Number of inhabitants (2011): 84,836
Surface area in km²: 2,024

XI. Požega-Slavonia County
Administrative centre: Požega
Number of inhabitants (2011): 78,034
Surface area in km²: 1,823

XII. Brod-Posavina County
Administrative centre: Slavonski Brod
Number of inhabitants (2011): 158,575
Surface area in km²: 2,030

XIII. Zadar County
Administrative centre: Zadar
Number of inhabitants (2011): 170,017
Surface area in km²: 3,646

XIV. Osijek-Baranja County
Administrative centre: Osijek
Number of inhabitants (2011): 305,032
Surface area in km²: 4,155

XV. Šibenik-Knin County
Administrative centre: Šibenik
Number of inhabitants (2011): 109,375
Surface area in km²: 2,984

XVI. Vukovar-Srijem County
Administrative centre: Vukovar
Number of inhabitants (2011): 179,521
Surface area in km²: 2,454

XVII. Split-Dalmatia County
Administrative centre: Split
Number of inhabitants (2011): 454,798
Surface area in km²: 4,540

XVIII. Istra County
Administrative centre: Pazin
Number of inhabitants (2011): 208,055
Surface area in km²: 2,813

XIX. Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Administrative centre: Dubrovnik
Number of inhabitants (2011): 122,568
Surface area in km²: 1,781

XX. Međimurje County
Administrative centre: Čakovec
Number of inhabitants (2011): 113,804
Surface area in km²: 729

The City of Zagreb
Number of inhabitants (2011): 790,017
Surface area in km²: 641